SPORTS: Law Swimmers Dive Into Winter Season

(Photo courtesy @jlawathletics)

(Photo courtesy @jlhsathletics)

By Leslie Terres – Staff Reporter

The Law boys swim team is beginning its season with a new coach and new goals.

Although many team members are swimming for the first time, it looks like they have a very bright future ahead of them based on their positive attitudes.

“I’m looking forward to seeing everyone improve their times and forms so that by the end of our season they will be able to look back on the first practice and be proud of how far they’ve come,” junior captain Colby Brennan said.

New members of the team are also excited to get started.

“I love swimming with all my friends and watching (everyone) work hard to improve every day,” freshman Jack Pincus-Coyle said.

The team will be competing in individual and relay events using all strokes. They will compete in 11 meets, not including SCCs and states.

“We have a lot of great talent on the team and we’re working towards breaking some records which I definitely think will happen by the end of this season,” said Miss Kizavul, who takes over as head coach this year replacing Miss Rosner.

For practice, the boys are bussed to Foran, which is also where all of their home meets will be.

Practices consist of a warm-up to start where the boys use pull buoys and kick boards followed by a variety of different workouts focusing on strokes, sprints, and long distances. They also set time aside to work on starts and flip turns.

“I am excited to coach this year; it’s a new experience for me, but because I am a former Law swimmer myself it made the transition a little easier,” Kizavul said. “My favorite things about coaching the team so far are getting to know more students and helping them succeed in a sport that I love.”

The team already competed in their first meet. Even though they fell to Hand, they still seem very motivated to improve and do better as the season goes on. They are focused on personal improvement.

“I love being on the team, all of the guys are nice and I’m looking forward to getting in better shape and enjoying some banter with my mates,” junior Ian Hugo said. “Since there’s not that many kids on the team I think it makes us closer and more like a family, from day one there was an instant bond between all of my team members and I feel like I’ve known them forever.”

The team also has meets this season against Hamden, Haddam-Killingworth, Sheehan, Foran, Lyman Hall, Bunnell/Stratford, Kennedy, North Haven Shelton, and West Haven.

“Our team is filled with great kids with great sportsmanship and camaraderie that would make anyone feel welcome,” Kizavul said. “It’s also a great exercise. We’re a smaller team with a big heart and would love to have more swimmers join us.”

Leave a Reply

