5 Questions With…Senior Class President Nisali Fernando About The Upcoming Year

“5 Questions With…” is a weekly column that will feature 5-question interviews with the students, faculty, and staff at Law that are making news in and out of the classroom.

Photo Courtesy of Nisali Fernando

(Photo courtesy Nisali Fernando)

By Owen Paiva – Entertainment Editor

Senior Class President Nisali Fernando is excited about upcoming events for Seniors throughout the year. She spoke to Advocate Entertainment Editor Owen Paiva in order to answer some questions the majority of seniors might have.

Owen PaivaWhat upcoming senior events are there?

Nisali Fernando: We’ll be having several events this year. Class picnic, Class Night, Senior Night, Awards Night, Cotillion, Homecoming, and towards the end of the year the Fire and Ice party and graduation! This is an exciting year and we hope everyone participates, so make sure you get your dues in when we start collecting (they’re $25.) They cover much of the events and pay for things like your cap and gown, your chords, the picture you get at graduation, food at Awards Night, and your diploma covers.

OP: What’s the plan for Cotillion?

NF: Cotillion will be on March 24th, so you have plenty of time to get ready. It’ll be held at Cascade and tickets will probably be $65.

OP: What are you excited for as president for senior year?

NF: I’m so excited (I’m smiling while I type this). Being senior class president has been dream of mine since I was in 8th grade… since I was 12 I’ve been wanting to make this school as amazing as possible. I really want to make sure every senior feels like they have a voice. I want to do everything in my power to make our senior year amazing. It’s our final year of high school and when I look around I see kids I’ve grown up with, and I would do anything for them (within reason).

OP: What is the plan for senior “merch”?

NF: Senior “merch” will be designed around October and handed out around December. I would love to get the senior class involved in the process. We have some fun ideas in the works so look out for updates in the following months.

OP: How can people find out when things are going on?

NF: We have a Twitter account (@jlawclass17) and we’ll be tweeting out updates and loads of information, if you have any questions or concerns you can tweet at us. I also consider myself pretty approachable, so if you have any questions or problems don’t hesitate to stop me in the hallway.

Leave a Reply

