SPORTS: Boys Track Crosses Finish Line On Successful Spring Season

(Photo courtesy yearbookavenue.com)

By Chloe McCullough – Staff Reporter

From SCCs to states to nationals, the Law boys track team had a remarkable season this spring.

The Lawmen lost only one meet during the regular season and posted victories over teams such as Hillhouse, Guilford, and Hamden.

Junior Alex Pratcher went All-State in the 200m and the 800m medley relay team of Mike Plaskon, Charlie Fonck, Pratcher, and Joe Mugford qualified for nationals.

Freshman also Mike Loschiavo had an outstanding season. He improved his personal best in the mile from a 5:15 minute to a 5:07 minute mile by the end of the season.

“I think my first year on the team was an awakening, because the season started off fast so I struggled a bit to succeed,” Loschiavo said. “However, my first year was great and I set personal goals for this season that I achieved, therefore there is a lot of room for improvement.”

Loschiavo had a great first year on the team and is excited to participate for years to come.

Senior captain Ryan Wasserman had a great season as well. He achieved two personal bests in his event, the mile. He had some words of advice for those returning next season.

“Keep working hard and give it your all at every practice and every meet,” Wasserman said. “You can always push yourself more than you feel you can.”

Junior Matt Marino set some goals for himself in the beginning of the season. Throughout the season, he worked hard to achieve them.

Marino’s beat his personal best time in the 800m with a time of 2:04.80. 

“My goal at the start of the season was to be the first to make states since Jeremy Doucette did my freshman year,” Marino said. “The qualifying time is 2:06.9 to do so. Therefore, I have done more than achieved my goal with my personal best this season as a 2:04.80.”

Marino also mentioned the achievements of Mike DiBlase, a standout freshman this season. He ran a 2:09 800m, which compares to Marino’s best time as a freshman, which was a 2:15.

“My first year on the track team was honestly one of the best experiences I’ve ever had,” DiBlase said. “I get amazing amounts of support from my coaches and teammates and I definitely plan on participating not only next year, but until I graduate.”

Junior Matt Tournas was also a key player on the team, running the distance events. 

“I had a great first year on the team,” Tournas said. “It felt like one big family and I had a great time. I’m excited to continue on the team next year.”

Leave a Reply

